Hylands School is an academy as part of The Kemnal Academies Trust (TKAT).

TKAT is a multi-academy trust which was established on 1st September 2011.  Its constitution is set out in the Articles of Association and this is shared with individual academies via the Scheme of Delegation.  TKAT have, through the Scheme of Delegation, established Local Governing Bodies for each of the Academies.

Click here to view the Scheme of Delegation.

Click here to view the Governors Impact Statement

The Local Governing Body of each of the Academies is responsible for fulfilling the strategic and operational governance role in the conduct of the Academy.

Please follow this link to see the Directors of the TKAT Board: (

Please follow this link to see Governance Information relating to TKAT, including structure of governance and relevant details about Trustees terms of office, attendance and business interests : (

Mission Statement

The Local Governing Body is committed to realising the vision that Hylands School will become an outstanding provider of education.

Through a proactive process of support and challenge we will strive to ensure that:

  • We provide the highest quality education for each child.

  • Unlock every student's talent and ability to recognise the uniqueness of every child.

  • Focus on creating the best opportunities for effective learning for all.

  • To inspire and challenge each student to achieve their goals throughout their life.


We currently have 11 governors:

  • 1 Headteacher

  • 2 staff governors

  • 2 parent governors

  • 6 appointed governors

Chair of Governors:                Mrs Clare Norton (Parent Governor)

Please see the sections on the left for details or our current and recent LGB members.  If you wish to contact governors, please do so via the school contact details.


There are four meetings of the full Local Governing Body each academic year.  In addition to this, there is a committee which has delegated responsibility laid out in the terms of reference.

Business Management Committee

To assist the decision making of the Governing Body by enabling more detailed consideration to be given to the best means to ensure sound management of the academy’s personnel, finances, resources and assets including proper planning, monitoring and probity.

Current LGB Members        
Name & Term Type Responsibility Attendance 2017-2018 % Declaration of Interest

Mrs Clare Norton

Start Date: 12.10.2016

Current Term 12.10.2016 - 12-10.2020

  Chair of Governors 100% None

Mr David Newman 

Start Date: 01.06.2006

Current Term 01.02.2015-01.02.2019

LGB Appointed Business Manager/Finance 80% None



Mrs Monica Milne

Start Date: 31.08.2017

Current Term 31.08.2017 - 31.08.2021

LGB Appointed TBD 80% TES Consultant

Mr Steve Lennon

Start Date: 03.05.2017

Current Term 03.05.2017 - 03.05.2021

LGB Appointed Business Management Comitee 80% None

Mrs Jane Coleman

Start Date: 04.07.2017

Current Term 04.07.2017 - 04.07.2021

Parent TBD 80% Employee of TES

Mr Giles Thomas

Start Date: 25.08.2017

Current Term: 25.08.2017 -  25.08.2021

Co-Opted TBD 100% None

Mrs Smita Rajesh

Start Date: 31.08.2018

Current Term 31.08.2018 - 31.08.22

LGB Appointed TBD NEW None

Mrs Elizabeth Turner 

Start Date: 11.01.2011

Current Term 02.12.2014- 02.12.2018

Staff- Teaching   100% None

Mr Robert Hepworth

Start Date: 01.01.2018

Current Term 01.01.2018-01.01.2022

Staff - Associate Staff   60% None
Mr Andrew Parry  Staff - Headteacher   100% None
Mr Christian Cavanagh Executive Headteacher   60% None
Mrs Sonja Mitchell Clerk to Governors   NEW None
Previous LGB Members        
Name & Term Type Responsibility Attendance 2017-2018% Declaration of Interest

Mrs Janet Young 

Start Date: 07.07.2010

Term ended - 01.09.2018

LGB Appointed AHT/Behaviour and Safety 60% 31st August 2017 - Chair of Governors - Heybridge Primary School 

Mr Thomas Thorpe Ex-officio

Start Date: 01.04.2016

Term Ended 31.10.2017

Staff - Head Teacher   0% N/A

Mr John Pearson

Start Date:23.03.2004

Term Ended 22.02.2018

LGB Appointmed

Ex Vice-Chair of Governors


40% None

Mrs Jasmine Montague

Start Date:03.11.2016

Term ended - 07.11.2017

Parent AHT/Safegaurding 0% None

Mrs Yvonne Lawrence

Start Date:25.06.2014

Term Ended 30.06.2018

LGB Appointed

Teaching & Learning

More Able

100% None

Mrs Sarah Jacobs

Start Date: 01.09.2017

Term Ended 31.08.2018

LGB Appointed Chair of Governors 100% None