KS3 & KS4

KS3

We strive to ensure KS3 students are able to work in a happy and safe environment to enable them to learn and achieve.  There is a team of staff in place to support this – Tutors provide a positive start to the day by ensuring students are organised and ready to learn. They deliver a program of PSHE topics and are available to the students if they have any concerns. Tutors are also the first point of contact for parents. The Pastoral Support Manager helps students deal with any day to day problems or issues which are affecting their progress or general welfare.

The Key Stage 3 Coordinator oversees Year 7 and 8, both academic progress and pastoral welfare.

Year 6 - 7 Transition

We provide Year 7 with comprehensive program which results in the students enjoying a smooth and happy transition to Hylands.  In the summer term of Year 6 pupils attend an induction day where they experience the Hylands school day.  In the evening they and their parents meet their Tutors, the Pastoral Support Manager and the Key Stage Coordinator and begin to develop essential links between home and school.  We liaise closely with primary schools to support this process.  In the summer holidays we provide a Summer School for one week where all new Year 7 students are invited to take part.  Activities include sports, art, cooking and music.

Year 7

Year 7 settle in to Hylands School life very quickly and meet our high expectations of work and behaviour. We encourage students to become involved in extracurricular activities to help them with settling in as well as giving them a more rounded experience of Hylands.

Contacts

If you have any enquiries regarding your child’s welfare or progress these should be directed to your son/daughter’s Tutor in the first instance.

Tutor

Form Tutor

Email

7H

Mr F Burden

fburden@hylands-tkat.org

7Y

Miss A Marsh

amarsh@hylands-tkat.org

7L

Mr D Bell

dbell@hylands-tkat.org

7A

Miss K Clark Howard

Kclark-howard@hylands-tkat.org

7N

Miss H Wallace

hwallace@hylands-tkat.org

7D

Miss C Emms

cemms@hylands-tkat.org

Year 8

Year 8 is an important year where we expect students to build on their hard work in Year 7 and progress towards their end of Key Stage 3. They will choose an option to complete in Year 9 and so it is essential students continue to progress to ensure they are ready for the challenges of Year 9 and beyond.

If you have any enquiries regarding your child’s welfare or progress these should be directed to your son/daughter’s Tutor in the first instance.

Tutor

Form Tutor

Email

8H

Mr C Clarke

cclarke@hylands-tkat.org

8Y

Mrs M Foday

mfoday@hylands-tkat.org

8L

Mr D Downes

ddownes@hylands-tkat.org

8A

Miss H Castle

hcastle@hylands-tkat.org

8N

Miss S Morley

smorely@hylands-tkat.org

8D

Miss J Longley

jlongley@hylands-tkat.org

KS4

We strive to ensure KS3 students are able to work in a happy and safe environment to enable them to learn and achieve. There is a team of staff in place to support this – Tutors provide a positive start to the day by ensuring students are organised and ready to learn. They deliver a program of PSHE topics and are available to the students if they have any concerns. Tutors are also the first point of contact for parents. The Pastoral Support Manager helps students deal with any day to day problems or issues which are affecting their progress or general welfare.

The Key Stage 4 Coordinator oversees Years 9, 10 and 11, both academic progress and pastoral welfare.

Year 9

Tutor Group

Tutor

Email

9H

Miss C Maher

cmaher@hylands-tkat.org

9Y

Ms H Swann

hswann@hylands-tkat.org

9L

Ms F Kelly

fkelly@hylands-tkat.org

9A

Miss M Renouf

mrenouf@hylands-tkat.org

9N

Mrs E Turner

eturner@hylands-tkat.org

Year 10

Tutor Group

Tutor

Email

10H

Mrs A Daniels

adaniels@hylands-tkat.org

10Y

Mrs M De Purdie

mdepurdie@hylands-tkat.org

10A

Mrs S Ellinor

sellinor@hylands-tkat

10N

Mrs L Smith

lsmith@hylands-tkat.org

Year 11

Tutor Group

Tutor

Email

11H

Miss C Riley

criley@hylands-tkat.org

11Y

Mr S Hughes

shughes@hylands-tkat.org

11A

Miss J French

jfrench@hylands-tkat

11N

Ms K Frewin

kfrewin@hylands-tkat.org